Kauffman Foundation to Accept 2012 Nominations for Junior Faculty Fellowship Grants

Lacey Graverson, 816-932-1116, lgraverson@kauffman.org, Kauffman Foundation

Program will award grants of $40,000 each to seven junior faculty members

KANSAS CITY, Mo., Nov. 5, 2012 - The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation announced today that the nomination period will open on Nov. 7 for the Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research (KJFF). The Foundation will award up to seven Junior Faculty Fellowship grants to junior faculty members in the United States whose research has the potential to make significant contributions to the body of literature in entrepreneurship. Each Fellow's university will receive a grant of $40,000 over two years to support the research activities of the Fellow.  

"This program has helped world-class scholars further their research in the field of entrepreneurship, thus laying the foundation for future scientific advancement," said Robert J. Strom, Ph.D., director of Research and Policy at the Foundation. "The research produced by these scholars will be translated into knowledge with application for policymakers, educators, service providers and entrepreneurs."

Nominees must be tenured or tenure-track junior faculty members at accredited U.S. institutions of higher education who received a Ph.D. or equivalent doctoral degree between Jan. 1, 2008 and Dec. 31, 2011. For more information or to nominate a qualified junior faculty member, visit www.kauffman.org/kjff. All nominations must be submitted online by 5:00 p.m. Central Standard Time on Tuesday, January 15, 2013. Nominees will then have until 5:00 p.m. Central Standard Time on Monday, February 25, 2013 to complete their online applications for consideration for the fellowship.

The Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research is one of three programs in the Kauffman Emerging Scholars initiative, which supports the overall goal of promoting entrepreneurship as a legitimate field of academic study. The annual Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship Program, established in 2002, awards up to 15 grants of $20,000 each to Ph.D., D.B.A., or other doctoral students for the support of dissertations in the area of entrepreneurship. The Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship, established in 2005, is awarded annually to the scholar under the age of 40 whose research has made the most significant contribution to entrepreneurship. The Medal includes a $50,000 cash prize.