The Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship

Recognizing entrepreneurship research excellence

As a tribute to Ewing Marion Kauffman and his entrepreneurial work, the Kauffman Foundation established the Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship in 2005 to inspire promising young scholars to contribute new insight into the field of entrepreneurship. The Medal, which includes a $50,000 prize, is awarded annually to one scholar under age 40 whose research has made a significant contribution to the literature in entrepreneurship.

Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in EntrepreneurshipThe Kauffman Prize Medal depicts Joseph Alois Schumpeter (1883-1950), a Czechoslovakian-born American economist known for his theories of the development of capitalism, and Maximilian Weber (1864-1920), a German sociologist and a pioneer on the modern analytical methods of sociology. The reverse side of the medal reads, "In the spirit of Weber and Schumpeter, we celebrate new insight in the field of entrepreneurship, the force that powers American innovation, productivity, and economic prosperity."

The Kauffman Prize Medal is one of three academic recognition programs established by the Kauffman Foundation to aid the Foundation in achieving its goal of building a body of respected entrepreneurship research and making entrepreneurship a highly regarded academic field. The other programs are the Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship Program and the Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research.

Kauffman Prize Medal Recipients

2015 – Ramana Nanda, Ph.D., Harvard Business School

Ramana Nandais an Associate Professor of Business Administration in the Entrepreneurial Management unit at Harvard Business School. His research focuses on understanding financing constraints for startups and the ways in which the structure of the financial sector impacts innovation and entrepreneurship in the economy. Ramana is a Faculty Research Fellow in the Productivity, Innovation and Entrepreneurship Program at the NBER, and a Faculty Affiliate at the SME Initiative of Innovations for Poverty Action. At Harvard University, he is a Faculty Affiliate of both the Center for International Development and the Center for the Environment. He received his Ph.D. from MIT's Sloan School of Management and has a BA and MA in Economics from Trinity College, Cambridge, U.K. He is a recipient of the 2010 Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research and a 2006 Kauffman Dissertation Fellow.

2014 – Nicholas A. Bloom, Ph.D., Stanford University Graduate School of Business

Nick Bloom is a professor of economics at Stanford University, and a co-director of the Productivity, Innovation and Entrepreneurship program at the National Bureau of Economic Research. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the recipient of an Alfred Sloan Fellowship, a National Science Foundation Career Award, the Bernacer Prize and the Frisch Medal. Bloom's work focuses on measuring and explaining those practices that relate to firm success and the dynamics of the entry and exit of entrepreneurial firms.

2013 – William R. Kerr, Ph.D., Harvard Business School

William R. Kerr is a professor of business administration at Harvard Business School and was designated the HBS Marvin Bower Fellow. An expert in agglomeration and entrepreneurship, immigration, and innovation, Kerr researches the role of immigrant scientists in technology commercialization, the interaction of government policy and firm entry and cluster formation, and entrepreneurial finance.

2012 – Erik Hurst, Ph.D. and Tobias J. Moskowitz, Ph.D., University of Chicago, Booth School of Business

Erik Hurst is the V. Duane Rath Professor of Economics and the John E. Jeuck Faculty Fellow at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. An expert in entrepreneurship, macroeconomic policy and housing markets, Hurst researches barriers to entrepreneurship, entrepreneurial finance, and household consumption and financial behavior.

Tobias J. Moskowitz is the Fama Family Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business. An expert in entrepreneurial finance, financial markets and investments, Moskowitz researches the returns to private business ownership, the political economy of financial regulation, corporate finance and financial networks.

2011 - Alexander Ljungqvist, D.Phil., New York University

Alexander Ljungqvist is the Ira Rennert Chair of Finance and Entrepreneurship at New York University. An expert in entrepreneurial finance, venture capital and private equity, Ljungqvist researches financial intermediation, investment banking, initial public offerings, behavioral corporate finance and corporate governance.

2009 - Antoinette Schoar, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management

Antoinette Schoar is the Michael M. Koerner ('49) Professor of Entrepreneurial Finance at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management. An expert in corporate finance, entrepreneurship and organizational economics, Schoar researches venture capital, entrepreneurial finance, corporate diversification and governance and capital budgeting decisions in firms.

2007 - Toby Stuart, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, Haas School of Business

Toby Stuart is the Leo Helzel Chair in Entrepreneurship and Innovation and the Faculty Director at the Lester Center for Entrepreneurship at the University of California, Berkeley. Stuart's pioneering research into social networks and their effects on entrepreneurship points to the dynamics of networking and proved that successful entrepreneurs needed to be perceived positively in their networks. Stuart's research has examined the formulation of firm strategies in a number of industries; the formation, governance, and consequences of strategic alliances; organizational design and new venture formation in established firms; venture capital networks, and the role of networks in the creation of new firms.

2005 - Scott Stern, Ph.D.Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management

Scott Stern is the David Sarnoff Professor of Management of Technology and Chair of the Technological Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Strategic Management Group at the MIT Sloan School of Management. Stern explores how innovation - the production and distribution of "ideas" - differs from more traditional economic goods, and the implications of these differences for business and public policy. Often focusing on life sciences industries, this research is at the intersection between industrial organization and the economics of technical change. Recent studies examine the determinants of R&D productivity, the role of incentives and organizational design on the process of innovation, and the drivers of commercialization strategy for technology entrepreneurs.