Kauffman Foundation Announces Kansas City's 2017 Fund for Teachers Fellows

National program allows Kansas City educators to embark on professional development opportunities around the world

KANSAS CITY, Mo. (April 5, 2017) — Twenty teachers from 12 local schools received a big surprise this morning when representatives from the Kauffman Foundation visited their classrooms to announce that they had been selected as 2017 Fund for Teachers Fellows.

The new Fellows will participate this summer in self-designed professional development projects in locations across the globe to gain knowledge that will enhance their teaching careers and their students’ academic lives. Several of the teachers are working together on fellowship opportunities, such as a group headed to China to find authentic materials to incorporate into their Mandarin Chinese language immersion curriculum. Others will explore opportunities on their own, such as attending a creativity workshop in Reykjavik, Iceland, and teaching at an orphanage in Peru.

Fund for Teachers is a national program that enriches the personal and professional growth of pre-K through 12th-grade teachers by investing in their ideas for relevant learning that has the greatest impact on their careers, students and school communities.

“The Kauffman Foundation is proud to partner with Fund for Teachers to help Kansas City’s educators further their commitment to improving students’ academic lives and futures,” said Corey Scholes, the Kauffman Foundation’s director of education. “The Fellows’ international professional development projects will provide them with new skills and curriculum to share with their students for years to come.”

Kansas City’s 2017 Fund for Teachers Fellows are:

  • Haley Hurst of Academy for Integrated Arts 
  • Kate Moore of Citizens of the World Charter School 
  • Michael King of Kansas City East High School 
  • Elisabeth Booze of Ewing Marion Kauffman School 
  • Kayla Barnes, Michelle Aguirre Hill and Xi Wang of Foreign Language Academy 
  • Jazmine Salach of Frontier STEM High School 
  • Joshua Todd and Mitchell McCann of KIPP Endeavor Academy 
  • Kristen Raduzycki and Kristin Pfeiffer of Northeast Middle School 
  • Charlotte Griffiths, Katheryn Liseo and Virginia Zetmeir of Quality Hill Academy 
  • Jen Calvo and Robyn Wright of Scuola Vita Nuova 
  • Becca Anthony of Shawnee Mission Northwest High School 
  • Elise Kwenin and Bethany Brown of University Academy 

This is the fourth year the Kauffman Foundation sponsored Fund for Teachers in Kansas City. More than 50 Kauffman-supported teachers at 20 schools throughout the city have been named Fund for Teachers Fellows.