Kansas City’s Inaugural Class Selected to Participate in the National Academy of Advanced Teacher Education (NAATE)

Unique two-year teacher development program invests in high-performing teacher leaders.

(Kansas City, MO) May 22, 2017National Academy of Advanced Teacher Education (NAATE) recently announced its first class representing the Kansas City area to its prestigious, national program.

NAATE is a fellowship program of study that cultivates extraordinary teacher leaders committed to the classroom and dedicated to supporting student success. NAATE gathers high caliber teachers from across the nation to immerse themselves in an intense program of study that links their daily practice to key theories, frameworks and principles of the teaching profession.

An independent committee chose 15 Kansas City public school teachers out of more than 50 applications through a rigorous and blind selection process. Those selected for this inaugural class will participate in a two-year fellowship, focusing on improving their content knowledge and their leadership ability during a two-week summer residential program hosted by Yale University.  

The Kauffman Foundation is pleased to support NAATE and these highly skilled educators from Kansas City’s public schools.

“NAATE is unique among teacher development programs. It takes teachers who have been judged as high performing and seeks to make them even better,” said Corey Scholes, director of education at the Kauffman Foundation, “This is part of the Foundation’s ongoing commitment to work with our communities and open doors for students by investing in educators who help our children succeed.”

Congratulations to the following who have been selected for the 2017 NAATE Fellowship:

Katie Burns, Brookside Charter School

Andrea Davis, Academy for Integrated Arts

Abigail Green, Ewing Marion Kauffman School

Rebecca Halberg, Brookside Charter School

Ayana Hayes, KIPP KC

Haley Hurst, Academy for Integrated Arts

Skyler Hurst, Scuola Vita Nuova Charter School

Tiffany Kirkland, KC Neighborhood Academy

Khara Logan Martin, Center School District

Jenny Matheson, KIPP KC

Kevin O’Brien, Bishop Ward High School

Andrea Palmer, Kansas City Public Schools

Julie Potter, Shawnee Mission School District

Tenaya Rhinehardt, University Academy

Daniel Velazquez, Ewing Marion Kauffman School